General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
French Localization - Gnome skin
Posted by: jerofont
Date: April 25, 2003 10:13AM

I've been using K-Meleon as default browser for many monthes an I'm very happy with the customization and flexibilitty options of this browser. I wanted to say "Thanks" to all the developpers. Keep up the good work.

I also wanted to say that I'm ready to work on a localization of K-Meleon. I know, there are already translated menus. But, I mean also a translation off all the interface, such as preferences windows or history window and so on. I'm not a programmer, but I know how to edit *.dll and *.exe files with reshacker to replace the text-strings with the french equivalents. I've already begun the work with the 0.7.1 release but I think I should rather wait for the next milestone 0.8... If someone can tell me if this could be usefull or not, ;-)

I also worked on a new skin based on the Gnome default icons (Copyright goes to Ximian/Gnome 2 icons project): If someone is interested, let me know and I will mail the files...

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: French Localization - Gnome skin
Posted by: alain.aupeix@wanadoo.fr
Date: April 25, 2003 05:42PM

I have also , there's a long time, put a post about this problem, and how to do it.

After some exchange, nothing comes.

I have also my idea, not in patching exe and dll with an hex editor or ResHacker, as I have made it, because, it's a little hard to do it everytime a new version or pack appears, but with a mechanism like the one which is used by Opera (lng files) which is easy to translate with a tool.

I don't think the solution of having one line in english and the next one in translated is a good solution, because of the number of messages to translate. This solution is perhaps good for a few messages, not for some thousands (for example, Opera has about 3 000 strings)