General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
scroll wheel on layers?
Posted by: Nicolas Chevreux
Date: February 23, 2005 02:01PM

Hello,

I recently switched to K-Meleon from Firefox and am enjoying it so far.

The only feature I am missing is the ability to use my mouse's scroll wheel to switch layers. This exists in Firefox (at least with the TBE extension) and I find it the fastest way to navigate from a layer to another: just put your pointer above the layer toolbar, and use the wheel.

I guess this would be possible with the mouse gestures and / or macro of K-Meleon but, since I am not a programmer, I have no idea how to do it. smiling smiley Any help would be welcome.

Nicolas

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: scroll wheel on layers?
Posted by: Andkon
Date: February 23, 2005 06:04PM

I don't believe scrollwheels are possible with KM, but you can mimick Opera's behavior:

Tools --> Advanced Prefs --> Accels

Find this:

%ifplugin layers
CTRL VK_TAB = layers(Next)
CTRL SHIFT VK_TAB = layers(Prev)

Replace with:

%ifplugin layers
2 = layers(Next)
1 = layers(Prev)

(Close KM for changes to take effect)

Note: Now you can't type the numbers 1 or 2 in searches or textboxes using 1 and 2 below the F buttons, though for me using the right side of the keyboard doesn't switch tabs.

Note #2: You can replace 1 or 2 it with any other button or combo, but beware that KM might not work if there are conflicts (ie, one keyboard shortcut is defined to two different functions.)

Posted by: jsnj
Date: February 23, 2005 07:21PM

I guess this would be possible with the mouse gestures and / or macro of K-Meleon but, since I am not a programmer, I have no idea how to do it. smiling smiley Any help would be welcome.