General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
Adding Individual Close Buttons
Posted by: Peabody
Date: November 20, 2006 10:34PM

Greetings,

I am new to K-Meleon. The past several days I have been seriously learning my way around the browser and overall I am quite pleased.

Do I understand correctly that because of the layered nature of K-Meleon, rather than a tabbed or true multiple document interface, that adding close buttons to each "tab" indicator is not possible? If I am misled, then how do I add individual close buttons?

Thank you.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Adding Individual Close Buttons
Date: November 20, 2006 10:48PM

In related issues:

1. Do I understand that, because of the layered nature of K-Meleon that drag-and-drop reordering of the tabs is not possible?

2. That K-Meleon is not able to remember the Find criteria when moving from one tab/layer to another?

Thank you.

Posted by: rmn
Date: November 21, 2006 09:30AM

Hi Peabody,

Those three things are probably related to the use of layers, but I don't think they're impossible to work around; for example, K-Meleon now retains the toolbar position between layers.

adding close buttons to each "tab" indicator is not possible

I believe it's just not done in that way; you can middle-click or double-click a layer button to close the layer.

drag-and-drop reordering of the tabs is not possible

Just FYI, there's a bugtracker entry for this request, but with little activity.

K-Meleon is not able to remember the Find criteria when moving from one tab/layer to another

Well actually this can be considered a feature, i.e. if you want to find different things in different layers, just like you can with different windows. What I don't know is whether this feature/bug was intentional.

Hope this helps.

Date: November 22, 2006 12:10AM

Thank you for your response.