General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
Toolbars.cfg Mods
Posted by: Peabody
Date: November 20, 2006 11:40PM

Greetings,

I am new to K-Meleon. The past several days I have been seriously learning my way around the browser and overall I am quite pleased.

I already have performed several mods to the various text-based *.cfg files, but I am unable to resolve some remaining layout preferences.

Currently I have placed the Layer/Window Buttons toolbar to the far right of the Layers toolbar and on the same line/level. I would like to move the New Layer button to the far left of the Layers toolbar while keeping the Close button to the far right of the Layers toolbar. From a usability perspective, separating these buttons makes sense to me, especially because I have not discovered a way to add individual close buttons. However, I find no Layers toolbar section in the toolbars.cfg file.

I am aware of the double-click option to open and close Layer tabs, as well as Ctrl-T and Ctrl-W/F4. But old habits are mentally tough to break and I am long-accustomed to using Firefox in this manner with separate New and Close buttons at opposite ends of the Tab/Layer toolbar. Perhaps new habits are in order, but I first would like to investigate available remedies.

Similarly, I would like to move the Up Level button from the Go Buttons toolbar to the immediate left of the URL Toolbar, but I find no URL toolbar section in the toolbars.cfg file. This location mimics the Diggler extension for Firefox, as well as the Konqueror browser.

As a note, for whatever reason I am unable to use the bitmap or rebar plugins. Solutions involving those plugins will not work on my box.

I appreciate any help.

Thank you.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Toolbars.cfg Mods
Posted by: guenter
Date: November 21, 2006 07:41AM