Do we really need to keep Kmeleon?
Posted by: snuz2
Date: January 18, 2012 07:34AM

I'd like to hear from some of our regular contributors ( and others!) what you think is so special about Kmeleon that it deserves to continue. Doesn't Firefox now do everything Kmeleon does? I am asking this because I am a C++ and javascript developer, and I am currently unemployed and have been thinking over whether I want to volunteer to develop Kmeleon.

For me, why keep using it? My reasons are better compatibility with W98 ( history and bookmarks still don't work with FF on 98), fast startup ( like I said, FF getting a lot better lately), and perhaps most importantly a philosophy of controlling the browser from the surfer's perspective rather than the website's. Also, I like my rss extension and I don't know if FF has a similar one. But most extensions I use are ported from FF anyway...

I would like to see "the browser you control" continue to differentiate itself from the crowd by giving both more control and more convenient control. As I have maintained on this forum since I began to use Kmeleon maybe 7 years ago, I think the privacy bar almost gets it, but not quite. I would like to see it resident in the wasted space of the status bar. I would like to be able to set a default group of permissions for new web pages I haven't seen before. Once I load a page, I would like to be able to quickly and easily enable/ disable images, js, cookies, caching, etc by just clicking in the status bar until the page looks like i want it to look. I would like the browser to remember that next time I load the page, to maintain those permissions. I would like this to be efficiently built into the browser with a fast hashed database that makes a single access per page fetch and uses it to control the page's loading.