General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
Importing IE favorites
Posted by: whs
Date: December 26, 2008 08:23PM

I am new to this browser and like to make a few setups. I have figured out how to import the IE favorites with Bookmark > Edit. Unfortunately they are gone next time I log on. How do I make them permanent?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Importing IE favorites
Posted by: desga2
Date: December 26, 2008 08:54PM

K-Meleon had some problem to save your profile when K-Meleon was closed.
Check your windows user have permissions to write in K-Meleon profile folder.
Start K-Meleon and go to Edit -> Preferences (F2) -> K-Meleon Plugins (section) -> Netscape Bookmarks (subsection) -> Check "Enable support for Netscape Bookmarks" option and restart K-Meleon.

K-Meleon in Spanish

Date: December 26, 2008 09:07PM

Thanks for the answer but it does not work either. In fact, I discovered that no bookmarks are being kept from session to session - even not the ones I have set in a K-Meleon session. Very strange.

Posted by: desga2
Date: December 26, 2008 09:24PM

What is your K-Meleon version and Windows version?

K-Meleon in Spanish

Posted by: guenter
Date: December 26, 2008 10:03PM

whs
In fact, I discovered that no bookmarks are being kept from session to session - even not the ones I have set in a K-Meleon session. Very strange.

AFAIK that is not so strange but one the typical signs for no writing rights.

Easiest solution. Reinstall and chose multiple user support "or so" ( "" = I have a German install). That creates a profile in %appdata% folder. By default You have writing privileges there. That setting is best for 2000/XP/Vista systems. These systems give You only right to program files folders when You have Admin rights.

Else right click on K-Meleon folder while You are Admin, chose dialoge & to give K-M user writing privileges to K-Meleon folder. There is an alternative setup setting that lets K-Meleon make Profiles there.