General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
Newbie here with questions
Posted by: Goatmilk
Date: June 05, 2013 11:15AM

Hi everybody,

I'm a new user of K-Meleon, just installed it a few days ago and I love it - first time in years I'm really happy with a new browser (as I had nothing but grumbling fits and sour moods ever since I was forced to abandon my good old Firebird and change to Firefox which became increasingly sluggish and bloated with the years). I have SWR Iron as my second browser, but never got used to its looks and feel and avoid using it as much as I can. K-Mel, on the other hand, looks and feels perfect for me, even though it seems to have some difficulties rendering some pages. I read with sorrow that it is considered 'dead'.

I've made it my default browser anyway. I can live with some quirks, and if a site gets all too bad, I can still watch it with either Firefox or Iron.

Looking around in this forum, I stumbled upon the K-Mel Twin+ and downloaded it. Funny enough, when I click on the exe in the download directory, it doesn't install anything, but opens up a second K-Mel window (but not a second process), and looks just like the normal one. I read the note about 'getting GoogleChromeFrame', but when I follow the link, I only read: "We are sorry. Google Chrome Frame is only available for Internet Explorer 6, 7, 8 and 9 on Windows 7 / Vista / XP SP2 or greater."
Internet Explorer is a browser I wouldn't touch with a ten foot pole... sad smiley

(Computer is running XP Pro SP3)

Anyhow, I might read some more in the forum and probably figure out how to handle Twin+. Do I understand it right that it might soften some page-displaying oddities I've seen in my current version of K-Mel, 1.5.4? How would I install Twin+, anyway? (As you might guess from my rambling, I'm the proverbial DAU)