General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
KUSTOMeleon
Posted by: foliator
Date: August 16, 2015 06:39PM

KM75 has to be the most customizable browser on the planet! Thought I'd share some of my own customizations:

I wanted to write a macro that would toggle more than one privacy item at a time, and it turned out to be far easier than I thought. Being too lazy to learn the macro language, I studied a few existing macros as examples, and simply stacked the commands, like this:

ToggleJC{
macros(pref_ToggleJavaScript)
macros(pref_ToggleCookies)
}

In fact, that's all the macro file contains, just those four lines, not even any comments! I named the file ToggleJC.kmm, and assigned a keyboard shortcut to it. Since JavaScript and Cookies are the only privacy items that I ever toggle, I re-labeled them on the privacy bar as J and C respectively, so they take up less room, and hid all the others except the Clear All button. Now when I press Alt Spacebar, voilà! The two checkmarks show disabled/enabled simultaneously! I never toggle one at a time, anyway.

To compact things even more, I also moved the items on the Main bar onto the Go bar and added an Exit button to it, since I keep the title bar hidden. The main bar is hidden now. It was also very easy to change the order of the buttons once I got the hang of it (my Go bar is on the right side, and I wanted the search button closer to the URL bar).

I've even used an icon editor for modifying some toolbar icons to my liking, or for creating new ones.

So now I have a really nice looking and spacious browser screen without sacrificing functionality. Just two bars: The first row contains the Config, Privacy, URL, and Go bars, and the second row is just the tab bar. Besides, why would I need a whole lot of bars when I don't even drink! grinning smiley