General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
Streamlining news and tweets
Posted by: msea
Date: September 22, 2017 06:15PM

After a few days of trying out all sorts of RSS solutions, I came across NewsFox which for me is the best app or add-on I've tried.

But I haven't been able to find an easy Share on Twitter add-on for K-Meleon... like this https://browsernative.com/share-on-twitter/

Any suggestions? I'm not a coder so it has to be simple. smiling smiley

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Streamlining news and tweets
Posted by: siria
Date: September 22, 2017 07:07PM

If a little macro would be okay for you, it could use the method described here:
https://petermahoney.net/make-a-share-on-twitter-link-with-url-and-hashtags/

Just not sure if special characters would have to be tweaked first, and which and how exactly, but the basic structure itself would be quite easy. Worth trying or not?

Update:
after playing a bit with URL-strings, it looks like everything always can simply be called as "text". The edit field shows all as text-only too, but automatically recognizes URLs and hashtags anyway. Only the & and # in URLs must be replaced with %-codes or they get cropped there.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/22/2017 08:39PM by siria.

Date: September 23, 2017 12:25AM

Thanks I didn't really understand how to implement the link you gave. But it looks perfect. However, the very word "macro" got me searching and I found this, which is good.

Web Bookmark | Web Bookmark Plus

at http://kmext.sourceforge.net/ext4.htm

The other method is to use "Send Page as Link" to tweet@tweetymail.com, which gives heading and link.

But I am glad that I found a button to click. I will copy and paste the text I want to tweet into the pane: Web Bookmark Plus does the url. (edit- this is with right click... left clicking the icon does both text and url)

Thanks for getting me going on this! smiling smiley

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 09/23/2017 01:48AM by msea.