General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
javascript site exceptions not working
Posted by: Mello
Date: November 26, 2017 02:58AM

I have javascript globally disabled, it saves considerably on bandwidth when using a pay-as-you-go dongle, but non of the individual sites I allow in K-m 76RC javascript settings are functioning with javascript.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: javascript site exceptions not working
Posted by: Yogi
Date: November 26, 2017 10:35AM

I've never used "Permissions" before, tested now with KM 76RC2 now and can confirm your problem.
As far as I can see global settings if set to block are overwriting the "allow" setting in "Permissions".

Posted by: JohnHell
Date: November 26, 2017 05:05PM

Mello
I have javascript globally disabled, it saves considerably on bandwidth when using a pay-as-you-go dongle, but non of the individual sites I allow in K-m 76RC javascript settings are functioning with javascript.

The whitelist is not intended for that purpose.

When you disable JS globally, you disable JS. And disable JS is disable all JS.

The whitelist is intended, for example, when you have enabled JS, but disabled for third party scripts.

Let's say you visit example.com that relays on third party hosting (CDNs, APIs, etc) for scripts, like bootstrap and google analytics.

Let's imagine that you want to load the bootstrap scripts, otherwise the site looses functionality, but not the google analytics. So, you don't want to enable third party scripts or all would load.

You'll then add maxcdn.bootstrapcdn.com to the JS permissions whitelist and example.com will load the bootstrap scripts without need to enable all third party.

But JS must be enabled, but for site only.

The opposite, blacklisting, is when you let all sources scripts, but want to block some third party.

The all JS, or only site JS scripts are controlled by the preference: permissions.default.script, set to 3, only site; set to 1, to allow all.