General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
:s Need help adding a "Clear all" button in the 'Privacy Bar'
Posted by: naimenim
Date: September 20, 2015 05:21PM

Hi, I want to add a button which will clear all browsing data (normally "Tools> Privacy > Clear data > Clear all") in the Privacy bar under the address bar of the K-meleon latest browser. Do I need macros to do that or there is any easier way? I'm new in K-Meleon. Thanks!

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 09/20/2015 05:25PM by naimenim.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: :s Need help adding a "Clear all" button (KM skins basics howto)
Posted by: siria
Date: September 20, 2015 06:51PM

Welcome to KM smiling smiley
No additional macro is needed for this one, it exists already. All commands that exist in a menu somewhere and/or have a shortcut are ready to be used on buttons as they are. An almost complete list can be found in commands.html.
And also all existing menus can be used on buttons.
Have you already noticed that the Clear button has the Clear-Menu on right-click, with several options including "All"?

Anyway, to add the clear-all button is rather easy, because it's already prepared in the native skin's toolbars.cfg, just hidden yet with comment signs:

=> Click Edit>Configuration>Toolbars (opens toolbars.cfg template)
- search inside for "clear all" and remove the comment # signs from this button block (6 lines)
- restart KM

TIP: but better not mess with the default skin directly, or you won't be able to reset it later!