General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
Goodbye Opera, Hello Kmeleon.
Posted by: Liam
Date: December 17, 2001 11:34AM

Ahh it is a sad day when I uninstall Opera. But as of the 5.0 release Opera has just not been up to snuff. Kmeleon crashes less, runs plugins better (half the reason it crashes less I am sure), and the only thing I could dislike about it is no more integrated email client (if someone could point me to a nice small one which gets the job done without skins please email me or post a link here), and the download manager was very useful when I was on 56k.

Kmeleon is argueably the BEST Gecko based browser out there. I like its small footprint although not quite as small as opera, and its fine UI. However I am new to Kmeleon, and I was wondering if I could somehow change the keyboard navigation shortcuts to something easier then alt left/right/etc.

A few things I have noticed about kmeleon that I like and dislike.

Well done skinning, I dont need flashy borders and 10megs in .pngs overloading my application for it to be better (oh I wish trillian had a unskinned version).

Good UI, one thing I disliked about opera was I couldnt put the navigation buttons anywhere to my liking. The rightclick navigation menu is also a plus.

Lack of integrated email and download managers. I know you guys dont want to bloat kmeleon more, so I can agree with the email client, but a download manager would be nice. Perhaps not a complex one, but just a simple retry if your download ever gets disconnected built into your downloading file window.

MDI vs SDI, its a strange thing. I like how opera works soemwhat, but the simplicity of it all being on 1 taskbar is nice aswell. Tabs would be nice like Netscape, but I can live without it.

Just a few question I have.

Can I change the keyboard navigation hotkeys?

What will the real changes between .6 and 1.0 be? This browser seems closest to perfection for me as possible.