General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
No "go" button by URL bar
Posted by: Timoch
Date: January 10, 2002 04:45AM

I'm new to kmeleon and have a lot to learn. I go to other sites from the favorites list, but when I type in an URL, I can find no way to make "go". How can do it?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: No "go" button by URL bar
Posted by: Andrew
Date: January 10, 2002 05:03AM

Timoch,

Can you use the "enter" key after entering the address?

Andrew

Posted by: sven
Date: January 10, 2002 06:04AM

Ergonomically - when I copy URL from somewhere I do it usually with mouse, either by selecting the URL or right clicking and copying it and then I also paste it with mouse into address bar. Pasting it with keyboard would require me to slightly break flow of motion, unless I do it with left hand. Now, when I already use mouse for the operation, I might as well do one more click which is more convenient than rising my hand off the mouse, hit enter and put it on mouse again.

Presently I'm somewhat undecided about "go" button issue but there are ergonomic reasons for IE, Mozilla and Opera including it in standard configuration.

Posted by: po
Date: January 10, 2002 07:35AM

well, i'm glad somebody else thinks so... smiling smiley

folks seem to think of it as 'an AOL thing', but there really are times when it's nice to have it there, as you described. ID_NAV_GO would be just the thing.

Posted by: andres
Date: January 10, 2002 08:07AM

I can't agree more.

Posted by: Andrew
Date: January 10, 2002 12:19PM

Po,

Did a bug get filed for that or a Go button?

Andrew

Posted by: Jeff
Date: January 10, 2002 02:37PM

Not to make this sound too much like a plug for my own software (it's free, btw, so you can't flame me too much), but using something like <a href="http://www.tcbnetworks.com/strokeit">StrokeIt</a>; could serve as a potential workaround for this.