General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
dead lizard
Posted by: Mike
Date: March 19, 2002 11:14AM

It's been nearly a month since I've checked the forum and still no new updates on KM. Pathetic, considering when I left that all that was left to do was wait for the 0.98 mozilla release. Seems we're a bit overdue. This is why the general public avoids OSS in the first place. Hopefully we'll see an offering soon, or else I'll have to suffer the larger footprint of a bigger lizard.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: dead lizard
Posted by: D.Rider
Date: March 19, 2002 01:48PM

Actually, I find that KM support is alive. I have been using it for a few months now and have been reading the support as provided by the forums, as well as through the Resources and Documentation links. Actual source updates may have been last done several months ago, but hardly considered "pathetic". Compare to the big lizards and I think you will see that things are about equal. On another note, even if you don't use KM, why would you rest all of your browser needs on a single browser, as none do everything perfectly well. I still use the other big lizards, but find most general browsing (home or office) can be done faster with little KM. I am generally pleased with it but not 100% satisfied, and I can say that about any other lizard as well.

Posted by: Andrew
Date: March 19, 2002 02:00PM

Mike,

I can understand that you don't see a lot going on here. Development has been ongoing since the last release and we are up-to-date with the latest Mozilla codebase. I would just add, as D. Rider noted, that we try to provide support through the forums. I can tell you that dealing with Mozilla or IE, you're probably not going to hear back from anyone about your problems.

Andrew

Date: March 19, 2002 08:27PM