Tooltip Anomalies
Posted by: Peabody
Date: November 21, 2006 12:00AM

Greetings,

I am new to K-Meleon. The past several days I have been seriously learning my way around the browser and overall I am quite pleased.

I have been unable to configure K-Meleon to disable the following tooltip balloon boxes:

1. Tool tips for toolbar buttons. The tooltips were useful for the first few hours of learning K-M, but now that I am familiar with the product I want to disable these tooltips. I realize the messages that appear are extracted from the toolbars.cfg file, but is there a global prefs.js option to disable/ignore all the button tooltips rather than laboriously editing the entire toolbars.cfg file?

2. Tool tips for Advanced Preferences. When I move the mouse throughout the Advanced Preferences dialog box, tooltips appear every time I stop moving the mouse. I do not need these pop-ups and further, the tooltip that appears is always the title of the section I currently am viewing. The tooltips are distracting and annoying. I realize that the Adv. Preferences dialog box is XUL-based and not based upon native Windows libraries and widgets. How do I disable these tooltips?

3. Although useful for many people, I find distracting the tooltip pop-ups for the layer tabs that display the entire URL. How do I disable?

4. I use GNU/Linux as well as Windows. When I visit the Linux Questions Forum (e.g.: http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/forumdisplay.php?f=14), I experience tooltip pop-ups when I place my mouse over a thread title to click and select. I never experienced this with Firefox, Opera, or Konqueror. Although probably useful to some people, I find the tooltips disorienting. I also cannot repeat these tooltips at other forums I visit. JavaScript is disabled. I do not know how or why K-M is displaying such tooltips and I would appreciate help in disabling.

Thank you.

Re: Tooltip Anomalies
Posted by: guenter
Date: November 21, 2006 07:04AM