General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
about:blank in URL bar
Posted by: Peabody
Date: November 21, 2006 12:23AM

Greetings,

I am new to K-Meleon. The past several days I have been seriously learning my way around the browser and overall I am quite pleased.

I have discovered the prefs.js option to disable the "title" text used in displaying the Layers and URL toolbars (kmeleon.plugins.layers.title and kmeleon.display.URLbarTitle). I would like to disable the URL bar from displaying the text "about:blank" when I open a blank/layer tab. Firefox and Opera display no such text. Firefox displays nothing in the URL bar and "(Untitled)" in the tab. Opera displays nothing in the URL bar and "Blank Page" in the tab.

I prefer no text in the URL bar and the text "Blank" or "Empty" in the tab.

Are these mods possible? I am not a programmer, but I don't mind digging into the program jar files if necessary (somebody first needs to help me know where to dig). However, I am hoping an easier solution exists.

Yes, this is strictly a cosmetic request, but one that I believe improves the impression one has about a product.

Thank you.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: about:blank in URL bar
Posted by: rmn
Date: November 21, 2006 10:02AM

I don't think it's possible without changing the program code. If you're so inclined you could file an enhancement request in the BTS.

(By the way, "(Untitled)" doesn't make sense either, so Opera's behaviour is better.)

Posted by: Peabody
Date: November 22, 2006 12:15AM

I don't think it's possible without changing the program code. If you're so inclined you could file an enhancement request in the BTS.