General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
K-Meleon Portable
Posted by: Iamklootfan
Date: June 09, 2009 09:00PM

Hi Everyone,

I've had a go at making a portable version of 1.5.3 using the instructions provided here KM Portable advice. I just have a few questions that I was hoping somebody might be able to answer for me please. Apologies if they are a bit basic, but I'm new to all this.

In the folder created on my USB stick there are two exe files: K-meleon.exe & K-meleonW9.exe.

I used K-meleon.exe to initially run the programme to see if it was working (which it did), but thought I'd better just check whether this was the correct one to use?

The instructions also suggested that setdefault.exe & loader.exe could be deleted as neither probably would be needed on a portable version. Is that correct?

Also, I was wondering what if any traces running KM in this way will leave on a host machine?

Thanks

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: K-Meleon Portable
Posted by: reeko124
Date: June 09, 2009 09:18PM

use k-meleon.exe

The only trace would be if you downloaded something to the hard drive. Also if someone monitors their computer connections. If you don't use multiple profiles it is portable the second you install it grinning smiley.

Reeko

Posted by: Paul
Date: June 09, 2009 09:37PM

Reeko I may have misunderstood this guys question but registry entries are left by KM portable. Some portable browsers are complete stealth with no registry entries left on the host machine.

I'm going mad:O see repeat below...............

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/09/2009 10:04PM by Paul.

Posted by: Paul
Date: June 09, 2009 09:43PM

Iamklootfan I don't know if this will help.