General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
exporting favorites out of firefox into K-meleon
Posted by: Brock Craig Rice
Date: August 22, 2009 05:31AM

Hello Everyone,

I am new to K-meleon, and what I want to do is export all my favorites out of firefox in K-meleon. Does anyone know how to do this? My friend tells me K-meleon is a lot better then firefox. So if anyone can help me make the change, it would be greatfully apreciated

bye
Brock Craig Rice

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: exporting favorites out of firefox into K-meleon
Date: August 22, 2009 06:11AM

Hello Everyone,

I need to update the message above: Mean bookmarks. So what I want to do is export my bookmarks out of firefox,and import them into K-meleon.

Posted by: guenter
Date: August 22, 2009 08:00AM

Depends on Firefox version. For the older FF2 You simply used the FF bookmarks.html with k-meleon. For sqlite based bookmarks (ff3 & 3.5)You do export as html inside Firefox. AFAIK Firefox bookmarks manager still supports that. The resulting file is a list of bookmarks that other browsers can use. Several browsers have export/import as html" which is usually the old style, html-list, Netscape bookmarks format.

If that info is not current any more i have no idea. I use k-meleon as default since before firefox project even started - so i install ff but use it rarely. Mosty if I want to use a ff extension that is not ported to K-Meleon.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/22/2009 08:01AM by guenter.

Posted by: paularoid
Date: August 22, 2009 10:14PM

guenter
Depends on Firefox version. For the older FF2 You simply used the FF bookmarks.html with k-meleon. For sqlite based bookmarks (ff3 & 3.5)You do export as html inside Firefox. AFAIK Firefox bookmarks manager still supports that. The resulting file is a list of bookmarks that other browsers can use. Several browsers have export/import as html" which is usually the old style, html-list, Netscape bookmarks format.