Development :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
K-Meleon development related discussions. 
Mozilla 1.1 and KM 0.7
Posted by: Your Name
Date: August 29, 2002 12:06AM

Last night I installed the browser-only installation of Moz 1.1... it became my default browser 2 hours later. It is a very nice piece of software, quite fast, and all the websites look good in it... I've been a die-hard IE user ever since IE 4.0 came out, and nothing swayed me from it until now. There are some quirks of course, but as a webmaster I blame the webmasters of the quirky sites, not Mozilla.

The question now is this: If 0.7 actually does get released in our lifetime, what will it offer to make people switch not only from IE & co, but from Moz 1.1?? It has to be down right amazing to do that! The biggest competition 0.7 will face is what it is based on.

Just a thought... smiling smiley

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Mozilla 1.1 and KM 0.7
Posted by: James Bond
Date: August 29, 2002 03:17AM

K-Meleon offer a better name than Mozilla.

Posted by: sven
Date: August 29, 2002 06:07AM

If you're happy with Mozilla then by all means, stick with it.
There is no competition between the two.

Posted by: Ed Mack
Date: August 29, 2002 09:02AM

Well, K-Meleon is very small... which is why I use it. I don't want my browser to take a second to load like IE.

Posted by: rmn
Date: August 29, 2002 12:03PM

- KM is small
- KM can run more smoothly on slow computers
- KM's appearance can be easily changed (Moz IS configurable, but only if you have the skill)
- KM offers a very easy macro-scripting

In general, I agree with sven. KM is not made to compete with Moz. KM and Moz are two very different browsers, although they are based on the same engine. You have to try for yourself, which browser you like most.

Posted by: Al.
Date: August 31, 2002 02:01AM