Character encoding...
Posted by: Your Name
Date: November 06, 2002 11:31PM

Been playing with KM 0.7. I like it a lot. But it is missing something important: I cannot set the character coding of a webpage manually like I can in Mozilla and IE. Can you please add this feature?

Thanks for a nice piece of software.

Re: Character encoding...
Posted by: Andrew
Date: November 06, 2002 11:52PM

You can do this in the prefs.js file. Even better would be in a macro which you could hook up to a toolbar button. Hopefully, in the future, we can add it to both the preferences panel and to a toolbar button.

Date: November 07, 2002 12:57AM

Can you please elaborate on the prefs.js solution? I have never done this before. If you can explain it a bit more or point me to some docs - the docs I looked at didn't have anything I could find.

Cheers

Date: November 07, 2002 01:37AM
Date: November 07, 2002 09:14AM

I messed around with your suggestion and had a look around the KM and Mozilla.org websites and found some more suggestions, but none worked! Basically, I want to tell KM that the page is encoded in a certain character set.

Thanks.

Date: November 07, 2002 02:22PM

The prefs for this may have changed. The notes I sent should work. What character set are you trying to display?

Date: November 07, 2002 07:14PM

I am trying to access a page that has arabic characters encoded in windows-1256. It also has English characters. In Mozilla, IE & co, when I set the encoding to Arabic (Windows) - which is the windows-1256 charset - then it works fine. I need this kind of functionality somehow in KM. It is annoying me since I really like KM 0.7 and this site is a forum I visit daily, and it doesn't display correctly.

Any help will be appreciated.

Date: November 07, 2002 07:37PM

As I suspected, it looks like they changed the pref. Try this:

user_pref("intl.charsetmenu.browser.cache", "windows-1256");

for on the fly encoding.

Add this: