Development :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
K-Meleon development related discussions. 
div "windows" ads
Posted by: JohnHell
Date: July 02, 2005 12:48AM

Can someone make, as the flash killer, make a div "windows" ads killer?

I'm not good at javascript so... I can't do much.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: div "windows" ads
Posted by: Drahken
Date: July 02, 2005 10:25PM

You can use your usercontent.css file to stop those. Most of them are conveniently named "adlyaer" or some such, and can easily be blocked by adding
#adlayer {display:none !important;}
to your usercontent.css file. To get the exact id or class you need, you'd have to look at the source of the page in question (or you can post a link here, and I'll take a look).

Date: July 05, 2005 10:49PM

The thing is to block all because these layers-divs are the new popups replacement that can be blocked directly. Maxthon an interface to IE does it.

The way I thought to block is to know the z-index but how do you know when the z-index of the div is "X"? (with x i mean a number)

Posted by: kko
Date: July 06, 2005 11:25AM

div[style~="z-index:"] { display: none !important; }

will block all div's that have a z-index attribute, regardless of the value. If you omitt the leading "div", all elements will be affected, not only div's. You can also combine multiple style attributes, for example:

div[style~="z-index:"][style~="position:"] { display: none !important; }

Date: July 06, 2005 03:00PM

That is nice, but yesterday... in some page I don't remember now I view the source of the page and there was a layered ad that hasn't that attribute sad smiley

I think that kill this ads can be a little hard :/

If I found it again I'll post smiling smiley

Date: July 06, 2005 03:02PM

sorry: find*

Date: July 13, 2005 03:55PM

Ok, here we have some examples that produces those ads. How can we block them?.

http://usuarios.lycos.es/calaberajoe/ads.txt

Date: July 13, 2005 06:11PM