Improvement requests :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
Use this forum to talk about a feature you're missing. 
"Developer" feature request
Posted by: Curtis "Ovid" Poe
Date: January 25, 2002 04:28PM

Hi,

First, the obvious: kudos for putting out an excellent tool.

Second: I'd love to help with the project, but my C skills are minimal, at best. However, I am a very experienced Perl/CGI developer. One of my greatest frustrations with browsers is not being able to see the HTTP headers. I routinely have to pull out some utility scripts if I need to see what headers are being sent. It doesn't sound like this would be a major undertaking, though I realize that this would likely not be useful to many who aren't developers.

In short, in the "View" menu, having a 'H'eaders option would virtually guarantee that K-Meleon be my primary development browser and would also likely lead me to touting it to everybody and their dog. As I am relatively well-known in the Perl community (I am "Ovid" on www.perlmonks.org, for example), I imagine that quite a few programmers would be interested in my opinion.

Cheers,
Ovid

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: "Developer" feature request
Posted by: po
Date: January 25, 2002 06:42PM

> I realize that this would likely not be useful to many who aren't developers.

i dunno... i'm not a web developer, but i occasionally wish for an easy way to see that information... but not in a modal thinger, ok? smiling smiley

Posted by: Mark
Date: January 25, 2002 08:00PM

At first, I thought, "Oh crap, he's going to want a Perl interpreter built-in or something..." :-)

Consider this idea "thirded." Perhaps it could be combined into a "View Info" sort of thing. Perhaps I should get over my quirks and just setup the Mozilla build already so I can do some of this myself. ;-)

Posted by: Curtis
Date: January 28, 2002 09:51PM