Improvement requests :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
Use this forum to talk about a feature you're missing. 
JavaScript and Other White lists
Posted by: Peabody
Date: November 21, 2006 03:31AM

Greetings,

I am new to K-Meleon. The past several days I have been seriously learning my way around the browser and overall I am quite pleased.

I'm using K-Meleon 1.02 and NT4 Workstation (SP 6a). I verified all DLLs as described in the Known Problems FAQ. My box is rock-solid stable and I rarely witness BSODs or other types of crashes.

Any chance that the developers can create a JavaScript white list feature? Firefox includes no such feature, but a JavaScript white list is available by using the NoScript extension. In GNU/Linux, Konqueror provides a built-in JavaScript white list---and a Java white list too. (But strangely, Konqueror provides no white list for images).

On a side note, I would love to see a white list for allowing HTTP header referrers.

Consider the philosophy of providing additional white lists---at least providing a JavaScript white list.

K-M is touted as the "little browser that could." I agree. The primary reason I investigated K-M is that with each subsequent release Firefox has become painfully slower for me. Not slower with page rendering, but the XUL interface. K-M is refreshingly snappier on my aging but still very adequate hardware. I actually am starting to enjoy surfing the web once again since I started using K-M. I have grown to detest Firefox and dread even loading the program because XUL has become so slow. Every other program on my NT4 Workstation box is snappy and fast and that now includes K-M.

But "the little browser that could" does not support Firefox extensions---and rightfully so. Thus, I now no longer have a JavaScript white list.