Improvement requests :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
Use this forum to talk about a feature you're missing. 
Pages: Previous12
Current Page: 2 of 2
Re: missing chatbox when login to facebook
Posted by: Yogi
Date: January 15, 2010 05:05PM

This is the reason why I prefere spoofing outside the browser. I do it rarely anyway.

However spoofing has its limits.
It won't be of any help if:
- The object of sniffing is browser functionality and not its UA string.
- The page contains scrambled code tailored to be rendered properly only by a specific browser.
- The browser doesn't support some executions of the code.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 01/15/2010 05:24PM by Yogi.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: sickley
Date: January 15, 2010 08:15PM

thanks for all your hard work distrupted! let me know if you need any help with Facebook, im not very good with km's macro language but i'd be glad to help in any way

Date: January 15, 2010 10:23PM

yogi i like all the options in your privacy bar! is that a different version of km or is it an extension/macro??

Date: January 15, 2010 10:33PM

nevermind i found it in the toolbars.cfg smiling smiley

Posted by: disrupted
Date: January 16, 2010 12:03AM

i was mistaken..they are still morons.
what happens is they do sniff for gecko and they also sniff for firefox.

if they get the "required" gecko 1.9.1+ but a non-firefox browser, they give you a js specific to gecko (will not work on other browsers) howevr it is similar to the one coded for internet explorer with the chat icon at the far end and opens in a popup window not integrated while firfot gets the integrated chat thingy

when tested with other strings/browsers..all geckos camino, seamonkey and flock(not sure if flock uses own ua) get the same halfbar

that simply means when it comes to gecko browsers they are deliberately giving a special treatment and privilege to firefox while all webkit browsers and opera get the same treatment with the chat integration box.