Extensions :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
All about K-Meleon extensions. 
HTTPS in YouTube won't let YouTube-services load
Posted by: newbial
Date: January 01, 2015 11:25PM

Hello everyone,

YouTube loads with HTTPS (even when I enter HTTP manually). Is there any way I can stop this? Thanks (and please, if you can help, keep it simple because I am a complete newbie). I am using K-Meleon 1.6.0 (because I have tons of extensions).

Thanks a million.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: HTTPS in YouTube won't let YouTube-services load
Posted by: guenter
Date: January 02, 2015 12:25PM

καλημέρα newbial,

I know nothing to help You / no way around it.

I tested with several other new browsers with different engines but it seems to be a feature of all (it is in their list to force https / HSTS list) or better Youtube wants it. Youtube https was introduced some time ago (see here) to counter the beast attack.

If You deactivate secure connection - which You still can do with 1.6/1.7 You will get the following error.

SSL failure
Secure Connection Failed

An error occurred during a connection to www.youtube.com.

Can't connect securely because the SSL protocol has been disabled.

(Error code: ssl_error_ssl_disabled)

Posted by: siria
Date: January 02, 2015 01:21PM

Wish I knew myself a way to work around server-forced httpS, because now I'm getting on other sites (not youtube, guess it was yahoo) constantly annoying browser warnings about "mixed content" with "unsecure" parts in it, on completely harmless content pages. So finally I had to switch off those warnings completely, grmpf.

newbial
please, if you can help, keep it simple because I am a complete newbie.
I am using K-Meleon 1.6.0 (because I have tons of extensions).

Uhm, if you have tons of extensions and using an old version, how does that make you a newbie? Rather sounds like you've been using KM for years <confused>

newbial
Well the actual problem is that I am having an impossible time downloading YT videos. Specifically: