General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
Questions regarding ad blocking, extensions, and other newbie questions
Posted by: ag87
Date: November 30, 2019 08:18AM

Hi,

I have some questions about installing extensions for this browser and ad blocking for this browser in general.

I'm new to this forum so please forgive any mistakes in my post. Also, I'm not very good at searches, so if any of these questions are already answered, please point me to them - thanks (that said, I did come across some related discussions that I didn't fully understand so I thought starting a new thread would make more sense)

I decided to try this out with version 75.1 for various reasons and as I had hoped, it is working much better than my current browsers (such as Firefox) in most cases and I've been fairly pleased with it.

However, one problem I ran into was what seemed to be a nefarious site coming up (with one of those "are you sure you want to navigate away from this page" messages) that I suspected resulted from an advertisement on a prior page. In a very similar situation later, another site wanted to install something I hadn't requested. So I looked to see if there was some ad blocking available.

First, I found a post that said there was something built into 75.1. Well, if there is, I sure don't see any evidence of it (in the various settings, the "about plugins" dialog, etc.). Maybe this is because I installed it by hand from the 7z file (and the "portable" version) rather than an installer, I don't know. Any suggestions regarding this "default" adblocker and why I don't seem to have it? If it is there, how do I update the definitions or add my own? Prior extensions for adblock plus that I've used have included a UI where I can run updates or add my own site blocking rules manually.